Praying for a cure….

Just recently my partner’s nephew was diagnosed with Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy (DMD).  I’ve never even heard of this disease until he started going to the doctor & was being tested.  After a few visits to the doc, we found out he had Muscular Dystrophy, but we didn’t know which type.  While we were waiting for the results of which type he has, we couldn’t help but turn to the internet to research more about the disease.  We feared the worst…  The symptoms & signs were all there & then after a few very looonng weeks of waiting, the test results came back & unfortunately it is Duchenne’s.  :(

There is no cure for DMD & it is 100% fatal.  Ethan is going to be 5 later this month.  He is already having a hard time walking up the stairs.  He will most likely be in a wheelchair by age 10 due to his muscles gradually dying & ultimately this disease will kill him.  All we can do is pray for him & pray for a cure for DMD & make sure that he has the best quality of life possible considering the given circumstances.

So with that said, I’ll get to the point of this post.  (sorry for the sad story)

I’m participating in the MDA Muscle Walk & I need your help.  I know times are tough in this economy & I would not ask  if I were not desperate for help & support.  This walk is very meaningful to me & I thank you in advance for your time for reading my story & I thank you again if you are able to donate.  No donation is too small.  More than anything though, please pray for a cure for Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy.

Any artwork that I sell now through March 24th 2012,  100% of proceeds will be donated for this walk.

Thank you again, & God Bless.

~ Jackie

2 responses to “Praying for a cure….

  1. So sorry to hear about Ethan’s disease. I’m praying for him and all his family, and for a cure.

Leave a Reply

