Northern Lights

I used 9 frames, (10 second exposure each) to create this animated file.I used 9 frames, (10 second exposure each) to create this animated file.
Taken around 8pm October 8 2013. A friend of mine told me about a meteor shower happening that night so I planned on finding somewhere dark & had my camera ready just in case I could catch some meteors.. Instead I was very surprised when I saw a faint glow that was moving over the lake. Being a northern lights fanatic I immediately knew what was happening & could barely believe it. The northern lights visible in the Chicago area. That doesn’t happen very often. And I just happened to be at the lake that night.. Awesome!

The 10 second exposure really picks up the lights well.

One response to “Northern Lights

  1. Such luck, getting to see something so rare and having your camera there too. The file you made from the photos is really cool.

Leave a Reply

